NSC Archives

Projects and Features

Winners of architectural awards announced

Cambridge students take first prize

Ladies get third place

At a ceremony held at the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA), Ben Burley and Kyle Buchanan from Cambridge School of Architecture scooped the first prize at this year’s Undergraduate Architect Awards (UGAA) with their entry ‘Generation-space’ – a creative solution using steel to illustrate how architecture can communicate global environmental issues to individual communities.

The entry demonstrates how the collective power of a city can be used in the production of local energy, creating an unprecedented bond between public space, homes and a community.

The second place prize was awarded to Taylan Polat from the Rotterdam Academy of Architecture, while third place went to a team of Emily McKee (Leeds Metropolitan University), Chloe Clay (Manchester University) and Marian Ware (University of Nottingham).

An independent jury chaired by Jasmin Shariff of Dennis Sharp Architects selected the winners. Commenting on the entries, Ms Shariff said: “We were very impressed with the extraordinarily high standard of presentation and creativity shown. Designs were innovative in their demonstration of how steel can be used in sustainable development.”

Steve Thompson, Senior Architect at Corus and fellow UGAA judging panel member commented: “UGAA provides a vehicle for undergraduates to learn about the use of steel in sustainable developments. In ensuring the lessons of today are passed on, Corus is committed to driving the sustainable agenda through its education and training programmes.”

“It is for this reason that the brief for next year’s UGAA will ask students to consider how steel – as a 100% recyclable material – can be used in structures that help address climate change and the effect it is having on one of our most valuable resources – water,” Mr Thompson summed up.

In addition to the winning teams, judges commendations were awarded to: Alberto Bruno – Politecnico Di Torino; Alexander Mertens – University of Arts, Berlin; Jordan Hodgson – Leeds Metropolitan University, and Darren Maryon – Greenwich School of Architecture.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Share this post

Related Posts


Click on the cover to view this month's issue as a digimag.