NSC Archives


Winners announced at 51st Structural Steel Design Awards

Chairman of the Judges, Chris Nash

BCSA President, Tim Outteridge

Five projects were Award winners at this year’s Structural Steel Design Awards held this week at LSO St Luke’s in London.

The five winning projects at the 51st annual SSDA were Tombola HQ, Sunderland; Coal Drops Yard, London; Wimbledon No.1 Court; Taplow Riverside Footbridge; and Tottenham Hotspur Football Club, New Stadium, which also received the Project of the Year accolade.

From an initial shortlist of 20 projects, all of this year’s entries once again scored highly in terms of sustainability, cost-effectiveness, efficiency and innovation, with six schemes getting Commendations and four collecting Merits.

Chairman of the Judges, Chris Nash said: “This year there has been a greater variety in the types of projects entered for the scheme.

“Scales of entry range from the largest sports building projects, through prestige city and regional office buildings, to smaller educational projects. While there are no residential projects this year, we see an increase in high-quality leisure sector projects and footbridges.

“There are jaw-dropping achievements here, and beautiful gems. I believe everyone involved in the steel construction industry should be proud of what has been achieved, and I trust that the SSDAs reflect the quality of the achievement.”

British Constructional Steelwork Association President Tim Outteridge said: “As with many of you, I really look forward to these awards. They show how vibrant and innovative our sector is, and they reinforce the UK’s position as a world-leader in steel construction. And how fantastic is it that they’ve been going for 51 years?

“Huge congratulations to all of tonight’s winners and finalists. Every single one of them really showcased expertise and a passion for steel.

“Thanks must go to our awards sponsor Trimble Solutions UK, who again this year has partnered with BCSA to deliver a superb awards.”

The recipients of the Project of the Year Award for the new stadium at Tottenham Hotspur Football Club

The Award winning teams

Coal Drops Yard, London

Taplow Riverside Footbridge

Tombola HQ, Sunderland

Wimbledon No. 1 Court


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Share this post

Related Posts


Click on the cover to view this month's issue as a digimag.